Claire Harrison – Communication Intern at Citylight Lincoln Church

            This semester I have had the wonderful opportunity to be the Communication Intern at my church, Citylight Lincoln. I also did my research at Citylight when I was in Research Methods, so it has been extremely fun being able to incorporate some of the aspects I worked with during research. My role as the Communication Intern is to create and conceptualize social media content and captions as well as bulletin content and other promotional materials. I have also ensured communication between each ministry is clear.

            I have been able to use the communication studies classes I have taken to effectively carry out my tasks. Ultimately, my research methods class helped me get my foot in the door with this internship and has allowed me to expand on the ideas I had for Citylight during my research. Through ethnographic research during my time in research methods, I have had to make observations about the culture of Citylight. My role as an intern has continued this because I still am observing the culture and creating the culture of the church as a staff member as well as promoting the church through social media. This relates to the Social Learning Theory where observational learning shapes communication skills and behaviors. By observing the communication style of Citylight, I am able to adapt to their methods of communication and utilize the necessary channels. Additionally, I am able to socially listen through social media for different trends and styles to accommodate our social media posts.

            I have loved my time working with Citylight and growing my communication expertise. Learning from my supervisor, Rachel, and the other Citylight staff has grown my appreciation for ministry and all of the aspects of it. I have loved diving into written and media communication. Overall, everything I have done in my internship has made me excited for my future!

Leave a comment